The Things You WISH You Brought from the US

When packing for 6 months abroad, there are many things you choose to leave behind, thinking you’ll find them in your host country. However, you don’t realize how much you need something until it’s gone! Here’s some advice on not letting this happen to you!

Over-the-Counter Medication

– Cough/Cold medicines: DayQuil, Nyquil, and cough drops

– Emergen-C or Airborne

– Vitamins

– Lactaid if lactose-intolerant

– Advil or Tylenol

– Midol (for you ladies out there)

My little arsenal of over-the-counter medicine I brought from home

My little arsenal of over-the-counter medicine I brought from home

In general, the UK will not supply you with brands you are used to at home. The country has different health regulations so obviously, that causes a change in availability of products. Apparently, the Brits don’t use cough drops and don’t have the same cough syrups we use.

In the first week, myself and so many other students got sick. The change in place, temperature, and germs make you super vulnerable to illnesses. I am so glad I had DayQuil and Emergen-C on hand so I could participate in activities without dying. Don’t take them with alcohol so pace the doses so it wears off by the time you are ready to drink!

Prescriptions

I don’t have prescriptions, but these are hard to get anywhere if you have a particular loyalty to one brand. The UK has good healthcare, but would most likely prescribe you something you are not going to be comfortable taking. PLEASE bring your own meds for however long you need them!

Ramen/Instant Food & Peanut Butter = Emergency Food

Regardless if you are eating from a dining hall or cooking for yourself, giving yourself some extra wiggle room is SOOO nice. I packed 4 cups of ramen in my suitcase since I knew I am cooking for myself. I got sick really early on my trip, so I stayed in my room and tapped into one of my instant ramens instead of going out into the cold.

Contrary to popular belief, most students won’t have utensils or anything of the sort when you move in. Plus, the nearest Ikea may be nearly a 30-minute commute and the nearest grocer may be a 20-minute walk away, which is a nightmare to find if you don’t know the area. Give yourself a break and you’ll thank me later!

Note: Peanut butter is always cheaper and better in the US. Hands down.

Unlocked Smartphone

If you are in love with your phone and never want to leave it at home, unlock it with your provider before you bring it.  The SIM cards are so cheap here with monthly plans ranging between 10 and 15 pounds. If you pay 15 pounds a month, you can have 300 minutes of talk, 3000 texts, and unlimited data through certain phone carriers here!

JUST BE EXTREMELY VIGILANT AND DON’T BE A VICTIM TO PICKPOCKETS! Especially iPhone owners!

Strong Umbrella

Rule of thumb: EVERYTHING IS CRAZY EXPENSIVE HERE. Buy a small, durable umbrella in the states and pack it in your check-in luggage. Every small umbrella here is either super cheap and flimsy or just too expensive.

For You Ladies Out There…

Although birth control is free here, everything else is really expensive. Make yourself as comfortable as possible and if that’s eating your favorite chocolate or having your favorite blanket, just bring it. Also, prepare at least a Costco-pack worth of feminine products since it will save you money in the long-run!

Leave a comment