Setting Up a Phone in London

I have now been in London for nearly a week and I think one of the most important things I did since coming here was set up my UK phone (mobile). This is so important during orientation so you can gather peoples’ contact information as you get them so you won’t be stranded when term starts!

Choosing a Phone

Phones range a lot in price here. Many students came with their unlocked iPhones so they did not have to purchase one abroad. I have a iPhone but to unlock it through AT&T would break my four-year contract. As a result, they would unlock it for “free” but charge me nearly $300 to terminate my contract.

Reputable phones stores in the London area are “3,” Carphone Warehouse, and Vodafone. If it looks sketch, don’t go in. The cheapest model phones available are typically Nokia handsets that are functionally the same from the early 2000’s. It runs around 10 pounds and the SIM card plan costs around 10 pounds a month for calling and texting.

Since my iPhone cannot work abroad, I decided to go for a cheap smartphone. The cheapest run around 40 pounds and the most expensive, like the iPhone, start at 550 POUNDS!!! Shit! Seriously, shit!

Choosing a SIM Card Plan

What I learned so far about phones in the UK are that the SIM card monthly plans are VERY reasonable. Since I am a temporary student in the UK, I am not here long enough to sign up for a formal phone plan, so most of us use SIM cards.

SIM cards run anywhere between 10 and 15 pounds per month. Shop around and the SIM card plans honestly depends on what phone you carry.

Setting up a UK mobile does not necessarily make it easier/cheaper to make international calls. It is mainly for you to stay in contact with people in the UK. Use apps over wifi and data to contact family and friends abroad and don’t waste your money on international calls unless for emergencies.

For you people out there bringing unlocked smartphones

(1) Go to the “3” Mobile store [there’s a location on Oxford Street] and ask for their 15 pound/month SIM card plan that gives you unlimited data and 3000 texts and 300 calling minutes. This is the best deal I heard about so far and I definitely use it! It should work for all smartphones!

(2) Don’t listen to employees at the store claiming that THEIR SIM card will be the only one that works for YOUR phone. As long as the phone is unlocked, virtually ANY CARD SHOULD WORK.

What Phone and SIM Card I Bought

I bought my phone at Carphone Warehouse and my SIM card at “3” Mobile.

I really wanted to use data for apps like Facebook, Gmail, TripAdvisor, and the like, so I was willing to pay the extra money for the added features and conveniences.I went with the cheapest smartphone at Carphone Warehouse. It’s the Huawei Ascend Y300 and, honestly, it works just as well and fast as any other smartphone.

It’s up to you, but the smartphone has been a lifesaver! I can use Facebook Messenger to chat to my friends and family in real-time without added costs of texting.

I went with the cheapest smartphone at Carphone Warehouse. It's the Huawei Ascend Y300 and, honestly, it works just as well and fast as any other smartphone.

Important: Set Up Your Phone/SIM Card AT THE STORE! DON’T LEAVE!

Not many people are familiar with setting up new phones or the services the store provides so definitely set it up there with the help of its employees to avoid problems . DO NOT LEAVE UNTIL YOU ARE COMPLETELY SATISFIED!

The SIM card I purchased was the wrong one and I am so glad I was at the store when I caught the mistake. They were able to quickly exchange it and my phone finally worked properly!

I know it’s all confusing in the beginning, but this is one of the first things you should do when going abroad! Good luck!

Leave a comment