Shopping at Old Spitalfields Market in East London

For my last market day in London, I visited Old Spitalfields Market in East London. This is one of the most famous markets in London for its vintage fashion vendors and antique Thursday markets.

Old Spitalfields Market

Old Spitalfields Market 1

Old Spitalfields Market 3

This is where you can find some pretty cool and reasonably priced vintage clothing!

Old Spitalfields Market 2

Thursday Market

On Thursdays, Old Spitalfields Market turns into an antique bazaar and you can find a ton of unique items! It is still not as cool as Portobello Market, in my humble opinion, but I was still able to find a lot of items I liked!

Thursday Market

What I Bought

Since this is my last shopping excursion in London, I indulged a little and purchased a few items I know I will treasure when I get back to the States!

Vintage Out-of-Circulation Tube Maps

I bought two antique Tube maps (see archive) designed by Harry Beck, who is considered to be the first non-geographical mapmaker in the world. He designed London’s Tube maps from 1931 until 1960. Today, his designs are highly collectible, especially among Londoners. Regardless of its value, I am so in love with them and I intend to frame them and treat them with care for years to come! I purchased a 1945 and 1955 version, both designed by Beck. Although I paid more than I intended for the two, I am at least glad I got them for half of what another vendor was offering just a few stalls away!

Tube Maps 1

Tube Maps 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Vintage Postcards from the 1900s and Beyond

I also bought 5 postcards from 1902, 1904, 1908, 1919 (I think) and 1943, respectively. This stall had so many interesting postcards sent during all interesting times in history! She has a collection of love letters sent during the World Wars, collectible military photos, political propaganda, and famous landmarks sent from all over the world.  All of the postcards I purchased have writing on it (you can find some blank ones still) and the penmanship and use of language back then was incredibly beautiful! I also find it funny that postage only cost half a penny over a hundred years ago.

Old Postcards 1

Old Postcards 2

Old Postcards 3

Old Spitalfields Art Vendors

After I bought my little souvenirs, I hopped on over to Old Spitalfields Art Vendor row. East London is famous for housing numerous art galleries and contemporary artists. At Spitalfields Market, you can find some of their works for sale. Although I have no direct photos of artists’ stalls, I really like Stephen Anthony Davids (SAD) art. When I was at his stall, an art collector was appraising his work and offered him a spot in his gallery!

Art Vendors 1

Art Vendors 3

An interesting canvas left behind after everyone packed up their wares.

Art Vendors 2

I absolutely love markets and this is going to be one of the biggest things I will miss most about living in London!

Leave a comment