Antiquing at Portobello Road Market in Nottinghill

Today, I finally went to a proper antique market at the Portobello Road Market! Saturdays are when the antique stalls and vendors are out so definitely check online before coming here!

Portobello Market 2

Also, come before 11:30AM. It gets VERY crowded. This photo was taken at 10AM, but it gets more crowded as the day goes on.

Portobello Road Market exceeded ALL expectations. The Brits have hoarded and pillaged lands all around the globe for centuries and there are VERY impressive items at these stalls. You can find gold-gilded clocks from French chateaus, carved ivory letter boxes from Imperial China, tortoiseshell combs from Japan, and plenty of silver and brassware from everywhere in between

Portobello Market 3

Just walk all the way down the road to find the Portobello Road Food Market.

I am from the LA area where flea markets seem to be the craze. Although I love flea markets, the problem is that vendors sell a lot of second-hand JUNK. It is very rare to find a decent item at a flea market unless you have a good eye (truthfully, I do not have that gift). Here, more than half of everything I see at these stalls seem worth the price! I am so glad I did not carry a lot of cash or else I would have just gone crazy!

Portobello Market 4

I chatted to one of the stall clerks located inside one of the galleries and inquired about his collection of old Chinese and Japanese artifacts in his case. He knew I was far from affording anything inside, but he was still very candid about how he acquired objects and valued their worth. I saw some of the most exquisite and delicately carved ivory boxes at his stall and I believe him when he said they each started at £6,000+. I feel that I would like to come back to Portobello Road Market in the future if I ever feel a need for an excellent variety of antiques!

Note:  It is impolite to take photos of people’s stalls, especially if they are located within galleries since they carry VERY expensive and unique items. If the stalls are in the open on the streets, many vendors welcome photos so I always made sure to ask before taking any.

What I Bought

I’m gonna pop some tags
Only got twenty dollars in my pocket
I – I – I’m hunting, looking for a come-up
This is fucking awesome

– “Thrift Shop” by Macklemore

I literally had £20 in my pocket! And yes, the stalls were awesome! I did not spend all of my money, but I did find a few items I really liked!

Vintage Teacups

For £10, I got three pieces of chinaware from the Rare and Racy pop up stall. The stall keeper, Charlie, collects and sells vintage tea-related china from various brand such as Royal Albert and Royal Stafford.  Here, you can mix-and-match individual pieces for £2 each! I do like a bargain! Since Royal Albert is a little more coveted, they go for a little more than the usual.

What I Bought 1

Rare and Racy pop up stall

What I Bought 2

My Three Pieces: 1 Royal Albert Teacup with 2 Royal Stafford “Love Story” Saucers. I absolutely love anything tea-related and I particularly covet Royal Albert tea sets. Although the saucers are not by the same maker as the cup, I still think they complimented the cup very nicely!

There were two women at the stall who were holding these three pieces and I fell in LOVE with their choices! This stall does not sell many matching sets so I knew that they were holding probably the only combination chinaware of that sort. I waited very patiently, watching to see if they were going to buy them. Finally, they walked away and now, this set is MINE. Woohoo!

Vintage Prints

There are many stalls that sell vintage prints from books, but this is the only stall that sold them for £1 each! I found prints of wildlife from a book titled Engravings from Oliver Goldsmith’s History of the Earth and Animated Nature (1825). I got myself an assortment of prints for which I hope later to frame to decorate my room at home. I also got two botanical prints from English Botany or Colored Figures of British Plants (1938). I got all for a modest £7!

What I Bought 3

What I Bought 4

He also sells first edition English novels. Sadly, I do not have his business card but keep a look out for this stall!

I had SUCH a great day here! I decided to take my sweet time and I managed to spend over 5 hours browsing through the many stalls!

P.S. Bring cash!

Leave a comment